Ranting is good

I was asked this monday and tuesday: ‘do you deliberately set out to provoke people’. I dont. It just all comes out when my dam of irritation breaks. I live and work in a pace where the conservative perspective dominates – or emerges repeatedly as a skill acquisition imperative. And to everyone I ask: ‘is university a place to acquire skills or emerge as the thinking individual’. I find that sould killing and have always belived this. About myself all I can say is: ‘Went to uni took risks’. And I want my students to do the same. I taught this way for 22 years. Isnt’ that enough to prove that this is what I do. And I dont do it as a provocation.  just do.

But then maybe what I do is a rant.

This is an awesome blog – for all of us who did systems thinking 20 years ago – this is good stuff. Bookmark this – take a feed and listen in.

A Ten Point Rant About Why Ranting Leads to Reality – or @)!@ | resilientfutures.org

1. A rant is defined in the dictionary as: to speak or shout out loud at length in a wild, impassioned way.

2. I would assert that ALL new thinking and doing starts with some kind of rant -and from that rant comes reality.

3. When Kennedy asserted on May 26th 1961 ‘……. “I believe that this nation should commit itself to achieving the goal, before this decade is out, of landing a man on the moon and returning him safely to the earth” – that was a considered by many as a rant – and a gross, unsubstantiated and self-opinionated rant at that, that caused mayhem, angst and uncertainty for even his true believers.

4. Rants can be very useful when intended to provoke, engage, align and even gain commitment to all sorts of ideas, from all sorts of people. Especially those ideas in their infancy, put to a diverse and multi-disciplined network of people to provide feedback, and move the idea toward its next stage of growth, or death.

Leave a Reply

