Design and the Indigenous

Its been a few months since my participation in that forum where I got introduced to the Indigenous in design and architecture. My first impulse was to go off and literally consider a ‘design school’ for the indigenous. This is something that Alison Page is championing – so I could join in that effort. I did join the NING network that is about Indigenous craft and Design.

I then thought the area could be the subject of an ARC grant application. This saw me have a chat with Kevin Murray – who was not very thrilled with the idea. And asked some pertinent questions – like have you looked at the published material. I hadn’t.

Many mind maps and jottings later I am at this place where I am exploring the indigenous through texts. I have gone back to Uncanny Australia. And I went to the local library and got some books. Its going to be a textual immersion for now.

Immersion in what: Immersion in the territory of the indigenous in Australia. This is also called Aboriginal australia – which is a different thing entirely.

I am speculating on a course I could teach when I have made some headway through my texts – a course on Design and the Indigenous, or titled exploring Indigenous Australia, or exploring aboriginal australia.

In the next posts I am am going to think aloud (in type) on this blog – about my thoughts on the topic of the structure and for of the course.

If you have any suggestions – Do write in here!!

Published by

Soumitri Varadarajan

Soumitri lives in Melbourne, Australia - #probonodesign #codesign #sustainability #patientexperience #quantifiedself #mdg

Leave a Reply

