Bloody Wednesday



The day started off in an unsettled fashion. It was the day after I had spoken out at an office meeting – being a lightening rod for a criticism. I provoked and was feeling I had spoken too much the day before. The I woke at 4 and watched Australia concede that goal to Serbia and end up with a small margin, and so head home. Good on you socceroos!

Then the news began to come in from Canberra. I was aghast! I was apalled. It was wrong – it was not a decent thing to do. Later I heard John Faine on ABC and his cynicism was corrosive. I felt like I was in a naive space, I began to hanker for idealism. I did not want to lose Kevin Rudd – I did not want Australia to lose its vision.

The new person who would come on board was not clean – it felt sleazy. It was back to politics after 30 months of a feeling that politicians were for the people.

I sat at Degani’s in Clifton Hill and jotted things desultorily. Its only about feelings – and very disjointed! So here goes.

Kevin Rudd and perfection – A thesis of perfection with a hidden fatal flaw.

Australia will go through the five stages of Anger, Denial, Bargaining, Acceptance and Death. The death would be of the independence of governance. It would be lobbyists and special interest groups. The idealist leaves and the pragmatist arrives.

Then I wrote this:

Dear Kevin, why, why did you let this happen?

You had dreams, you invited us to dream with you and you showed courage, took risks and promised us the dreams would come true. And you let them dump you, push you aside. You let us down.

You may well say et tu Julia.

But hemlock you have drunk

you are no philosopher

you are no academic

you were meant to keep evil in check and protect us from the cartels, the gangs, the organised thugs


Published by

Soumitri Varadarajan

Soumitri lives in Melbourne, Australia - #probonodesign #codesign #sustainability #patientexperience #quantifiedself #mdg

Leave a Reply

