Say no to designing objects

Is that really possible?

First the chain of causality and unsustainability: you buy things, which then creates the system that caters to this consumption behaviour, which then needs the manufacturing system to make things, which then requires designers to imagine things, which then means you have designers who want to design (things).

The question that I faced entering university from commercial practice in 1994 was – will I continue just being involved in a thingiverse – and will I be able to sustain my interest in such a work life. I was going into university as a teacher, I didn’t need to work clients and indulge in producer-side-thinking. I had the option to be idealistic.

So I said in 1994 – I will no longer design things.

My first action was to document the design inherent in the works of non designers – people on the street/ hawkers and this I referred to as the public domain. Design in the Public Domain.

Four years later I was to embark simultaneously on two projects – in both “producer side thinking” would be absent. Both would impact upon peoples lives – a large number of people.

That kept me busy for 5 years.

These projects – one on Waste and one on Pedal powered vehicles – sustained and developed my desire to do Projects as Campaigns. Thus was born the idea of Campaign Projects.

I have now been doing campaign projects for 17 years. Two projects were prototyped.

Published by

Soumitri Varadarajan

Soumitri lives in Melbourne, Australia - #probonodesign #codesign #sustainability #patientexperience #quantifiedself #mdg

Leave a Reply

